League Sportsmanship Trophy 

At the AGM it was announced that Runwell Hospital are the winners of the Dave Thrift Sportsmanship Trophy. This is awarded to the team who receive a combination of least red and yellow cards and highest sportsmanship marks from the League Referees. This is the second time in three seasons thatRunwellHospitalhave won this award. 

The Trophy was presented to the League by Anna Thrift in memory of her late husband Dave who was a serving member of the League Management Committee at the time of his passing. As a League we were delighted that Anna could join us at the AGM to present the award. 

Referee of the Year Award 

This award is giving to the Referee who receives the highest average marks from the clubs during the season. They must also have refereed at least ten games over two consecutive seasons. We are pleased to announce that this year’s winner is Chris Manley. 

Essex County Football Association Recognition 

The ECFA have announced that this website is the joint winner of their League Website of the Year for 2012. Andy Piercy (Registration Secretary) and Francis Mariani (Management Committee Member and Secretary of Old Parmiterians) were invited as guests of the Essex FA to attend the Community Shield at Villa Park betweenChelseaandManchesterCity. They had a great time and we look forward to the report of how the prawn sandwiches tasted!!!!! 

League Losses

Finally some sad news, during the summer Steve Collier (Referee) and Jan Perkins (Treasurer of Leigh Town) both passed away. 

Steve really loved his football and finally lost his long battle against illness. On more than one occasion Steve refereed on the Saturday prior to going into hospital for major operations on the Monday. The League was represented at Steve’s funeral by MartinBerry(League & Referee Appointment Secretary) and Tony Yeomans of MetPol Chigwell NE

Pictures below:

(Left) Francis Mariani & Andy Piercy travelling to Villa Park (Centre) Anna Thrift presenting Dave Thrift Trophy to Runwell Hospital. (Right) Chris Manley receiving Referee of the Year Award

Posted by:

Sign in Design by FirePixel