Hutton Old Boys 1 Manford Way 3 

Manford Way finally broke the spell of always being the bridesmaid and never the bride as they came from behind to beat Hutton Old Boys.

Liverpool Fan Chris Lee conducted a Hillsborough Tribute as the game kicked off at 7.37pm. After an even start to the game Craig Daniels in the Hutton Old Boys goal couldn’t believe his luck in the 14th minute when Manford Way’s Chris Anderson arrived unmarked at the far post but only succeeded in placing his shot straight into the keeper’s midriff. This appeared costly as it spurred Hutton Old Boys into action as Trevor Paul’s turn and shot brought out a good save from Adam Placey in the Manford Way goal. Then on 18 minutes Leli Badaja gave Hutton Old Boys the lead as he ran straight through the Manford Way defence and applied a cool finish. Manford Way got back on level terms on 36 minutes when Che Stadhart met a cross at the far post and turned the ball home from close range.

The second half continued in the same vein as the first with Hutton Old Boys having plenty of ball without troubling Manford Way whose midfield and defence were working really well as a unit. Manford Way’s growing confidence was converted into a lead ten minutes into the second half when Tom Hegarty turned in the box and shot home. Hutton Old Boys came close to equalising five minutes later when Carl Griffiths gave Andy Placey no chance but the ball crashed against the bar and bounced to safety. This proved to be key as on 66 minutes Che Stadhart’s first effort was saved but he bundled home the rebound to put Manford Way firmly in control. Despite all Hutton Old Boys efforts Manford Way’s defensive excellence increased their frustration culminating in Hutton Old Boys being reduced to ten men for the last eight minutes of the game. Manford Way comfortably saw out the closing minutes to win the Cup.


Hutton Old Boys: Craig Daniels, Ray Coker, Darren Hall, Andy Polston, Michael Black, Paul Linger, Norman McPhee, Danny Warden, Leli Badaja, Trevor Paul, Carl Griffiths.

Subs: Kevin McTasney, Stuart Hibberd, Lee Berry, Jason Holloway

Scorer: Leli Badaja

Manford Way: Adam Placey, Danny Haskins, Mark Brent, Brian Steers, Tommy Hegarty ,Martin Ewing, Darren Low, Chris Anderson, Scott Lavin, Che Stadhart, Kevin McAnulty

Subs: Andy Vesey, Simon Myers, Anthony Driscoll, Fraser Bay, Paul Marvason

Scorers Che Stadhart 2, Tommy Hegarty.

Referee: Chris Lee

Assistant Referees: Pete Cubley and Dumitru Vasile

Fourth Official: Dave Brignall

Posted by:

Sign in Design by FirePixel