MetPol Chigwell NE Reserves 3 Frenford Senior 2

The crowd at the sun drenched Met Police Sports Ground in Chigwell were treated to a very entertaining encounter between Met Police Chigwell NE Reserves and Frenford Senior in the Final of the League Management Trophy which was carried over from last season.

Stuart Wilson got the Police off to a flying start after four minutes with a hooked shot from the edge of the area which looped into the fair corner of the net. It could have got worse for Frenford moments later but for an excellent goal line clearance from Brendan McWeeney.

Frenford went straight up the other end with Brendan Conroy and Wayne Hunt working a great one two on the edge of the box which Conroy hammered into the net to equalise.

The game continued to flow with Met Police Chigwell pushing forward. Seventeen minutes in they re-took the lead with a well worked throw in routine enabled Laurence Smith to cross to the fair post where Terry Sharp pulled away from his man to head home.

In the 23rd minute Met Police extended their lead when good hold up play by Terry Sharp enabled Stuart Wilson to get his second on the game to put his side 3-1 up.

Six minutes later the Police allowed Frenford back into the game, there appeared to be no danger as Simon Creasey rolled the ball back to his keeper unfortunately Russell Miller missed his kick and the ball rolled agonisingly into the net.

Half Time Met Police Chigwell Reserves 3 Frenford Senior 2

The second half was much slower with heat appearing to take its effect. Stuart Wilson had two great chances to rap the game up firstly his effort from the edge of the area was turned on to the post by Jimmy Flood and then in the 90th minute Flood denied him in a one on one. This could have proved costly as the Met Police gave away a silly free kick deep into added time however Wayne Hunt’s header went wide. Shortly after this Referee Chris Hockett who had an excellent game blew the Final whistle to signal Met Police retaining the trophy.

The medals and trophy were presented by Tony Yeoman, in acknowledgement of his long service to football in the area. The Management Committee would like to thank Met Police Chigwell for hosting the game, in particular Bernie Webb and Trevor Linahan for their efforts on the day.



Met Pol Chigwell NE Reserves: Russell Miller, Mark Robson, Alan Dawson, Simon Creasey, Daniel Maxwell, David Stittle, Chrisitan Cowan, Alan Eva, Laurence Smith, Terry Sharp, Stuart Wilson Subs Russell Bailey, Anthony Bennett, Trevor Linahan, Arif Ahmad, Bernard Webb

Scorers: Stuart Wilson 2, Terry Sharp

Frenford Senior: Jimmy Flood, Terry Searles, Paul McAuliffe, Mark Sellars, Steve Carolan, Wayne Hunt, Brendan McWeeney, Gary East, Peter Horsfall, Chris Chesterton, Brendan Conroy Subs Mick Levis, Alex McCrae

Scorers: Brendan Conroy, Own Goal (Simon Creasey)

Referee: Chris Hockett

Assistant Referees: Kevin Lamb & Ola Omotosho

Posted by:

Sign in Design by FirePixel